Delta govt distributes 1,793 sets of furniture to Uwvie, Udu schools

DELTA State government has distributed a set of 1,793 chairs to some primary and secondary schools in Uvwie and Udu council areas of the state.

Uvwie got 855 sets of the furniture while Udu received 938.

Schools that benefitted in Uwvie included Eyagbugbe Primary School, Ugborikoko; Opete Primary School, Opete; Ughworume Primary School, Alegbo; Urhobo Model Primary School, Effurun and Alegbo Primary School, Effurun.

Others were Ugborikoko Secondary School, Ugborikoko, Opete Secondary School, Enerhe; Alegbo Secondary School, Effurun; Ugbomro Secondary School, Ugbomro; Urhobo Model College, Effurun and Sedco Secondary School.

For Udu Local Government Area, 10 public primary schools including Adjafia Primary School, Oleri; Omiere Primary School, Orhuwhorun; Palama Primary School, Palama; Ubogo Primary School, Ubogo; Emadadja Primary School, Emadadja; and Ujevwu Primary School, Ujevwu were beneficiaries of the furniture.

Similarly, Aladja Secondary School, Emadadja; Owhrode Mixed Secondary School, Owhrode; Ogbe-Udu Secondary School, Ogbe-Udu; Otor-Udu Secondary School, Otor-Udu; Ovwian Secondary School, Ovwian, Adadja Grammar School, Adadja and Ekete Secondary School, Ekete; as well as Orhuwhorun High School, Orhuwhorun, all in Udu Local Government Area, benefitted from the initiative.

Inspecting the distribution, the Commissioner for Basic and Secondary Education, Mr. Patrick Ukah, said that the supply of the furniture was part of measures aimed at making the teaching and learning environment more conducive for the students and teachers in the state.

The commissioner, who was represented by an assistant director in the ministry, Mrs Clementina Ojuma, said the state government was irrevocably committed to providing the needed conducive environment that could enhance the academic performance of the students.